Shadow624 Sprites

Discussion Forum

Post Reply
Forum Home > General Discussion > Questions?

Mr.Video
Administrator
Posts: 748

X_Fire_MH at June 6, 2014 at 4:49 PM

I have a question that I can't seem to find on the internt.


Is there any consiquence's (a bad thing) for importing a full (mabye more) sprite sheets in flash CS6?  (aka Maccro Media Flash 8 ).


Say for example a sonic pack with all the sprites you need for the animation, plus effects, plus the backgrounds, and finally another character sprite pack (or 2 or more) for the purpose of the story.


I ask this because I did something like that.

I probably don't know what I'm talking about, but no there shouldn't be any consequences aside from the program freezing a lot. It's better to cut the sprite sheet up into small pieces and import them, especially if it's a larger sprite sheet, less strain on the program that way.

--

"Yep. Someday, I'll teach him a dirty lesson!" -Luigi, in regards to Waluigi, Super Mario Bros. Heroes of the Stars Episode 3

Tumblr: http://mrvideo95.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrVideo95

June 6, 2014 at 4:56 PM Flag Quote & Reply

X_Fire_MH
Member
Posts: 123

Mr.Video at June 6, 2014 at 4:56 PM

X_Fire_MH at June 6, 2014 at 4:49 PM

I have a question that I can't seem to find on the internt.


Is there any consiquence's (a bad thing) for importing a full (mabye more) sprite sheets in flash CS6?  (aka Maccro Media Flash 8 ).


Say for example a sonic pack with all the sprites you need for the animation, plus effects, plus the backgrounds, and finally another character sprite pack (or 2 or more) for the purpose of the story.


I ask this because I did something like that.

I probably don't know what I'm talking about, but no there shouldn't be any consequences aside from the program freezing a lot. It's better to cut the sprite sheet up into small pieces and import them, especially if it's a larger sprite sheet, less strain on the program that way.

Yeah I notice the freezing part, but thanks for the tip.


Just needed to be sure.

--

--- END OF LINE ---

June 6, 2014 at 7:30 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Shadow624
Site Owner
Posts: 592
Yeah what Vid said basically. If you do that and either trace its bitmap or break it apart, your computer will probably explode. I think it's more beneficial to import them in smaller parts anyway because it's better for organizing and centering images in the animation. Not positive if it's better for the file size to import them separately, but my guess would be it's not.
--

"What does HP stand for anyway? Hentai Power?"


June 7, 2014 at 1:55 PM Flag Quote & Reply

OmegaSword
Administrator
Posts: 1081

I feel like a bit of an idiot for asking this seeing as how I used to know how to do it but I can't seem to find any help anywhere else. I recently got Flash again after close to a year without having it and I'm having trouble remembering how to successfully create a usable movie clip. I've tried convert to symbol > movie clip but I appear to be doing something wrong.


Also, why you so beautiful? :P

--

I feel like Donkey Kong just shaved my ass cheeks with those moves.

July 13, 2014 at 4:39 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr.Video
Administrator
Posts: 748

Did you trace the bitmap? You should just have to select the sprites, modify, convert to symbol, and select movie-clip.

--

"Yep. Someday, I'll teach him a dirty lesson!" -Luigi, in regards to Waluigi, Super Mario Bros. Heroes of the Stars Episode 3

Tumblr: http://mrvideo95.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrVideo95

July 13, 2014 at 4:49 PM Flag Quote & Reply

OmegaSword
Administrator
Posts: 1081

I'll try that, thanks.

--

I feel like Donkey Kong just shaved my ass cheeks with those moves.

July 13, 2014 at 4:59 PM Flag Quote & Reply

OmegaSword
Administrator
Posts: 1081

Anyone else having this problem with the site's chat?



--

I feel like Donkey Kong just shaved my ass cheeks with those moves.

July 17, 2014 at 7:48 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Shadow624
Site Owner
Posts: 592

I just logged in no problem.

--

"What does HP stand for anyway? Hentai Power?"


July 17, 2014 at 10:10 PM Flag Quote & Reply

OmegaSword
Administrator
Posts: 1081

I've tried on two seperate computers. I got new internet today, but I can't see that having anything to do with it... hmmm...

--

I feel like Donkey Kong just shaved my ass cheeks with those moves.

July 17, 2014 at 10:13 PM Flag Quote & Reply

CosmicTornado
Member
Posts: 703

People still use the chat feature?

--

Never give up hope for what could be.

http://cosmictornado.newgrounds.com/follow

July 17, 2014 at 10:23 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr.Video
Administrator
Posts: 748

OmegaSword at July 17, 2014 at 10:13 PM

I've tried on two seperate computers. I got new internet today, but I can't see that having anything to do with it... hmmm...

Chat works fine for me too, but I've seen messages like that before.  My guess would be that it's probably just a bad internet connection, that's the only reason I've ever seen messages like that.

--

"Yep. Someday, I'll teach him a dirty lesson!" -Luigi, in regards to Waluigi, Super Mario Bros. Heroes of the Stars Episode 3

Tumblr: http://mrvideo95.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrVideo95

July 18, 2014 at 11:16 AM Flag Quote & Reply

OmegaSword
Administrator
Posts: 1081

Mr.Video at July 18, 2014 at 11:16 AM

OmegaSword at July 17, 2014 at 10:13 PM

I've tried on two seperate computers. I got new internet today, but I can't see that having anything to do with it... hmmm...

Chat works fine for me too, but I've seen messages like that before.  My guess would be that it's probably just a bad internet connection, that's the only reason I've ever seen messages like that.

I dunno. My new internet is even better than my last, however Canada's internet isn't exactly the leader for internet. I'll look into it.

--

I feel like Donkey Kong just shaved my ass cheeks with those moves.

July 18, 2014 at 1:46 PM Flag Quote & Reply

X_Fire_MH
Member
Posts: 123

Dose anybody know any Sonic battle action script code?   I'm talking about moving in 4 directions while maintaining the jumping code, and attcak code.


I recently got curious into flash gaming, and I have a idea for a fan game, but I keep heading into dead ends with the code.

--

--- END OF LINE ---

August 25, 2014 at 11:58 PM Flag Quote & Reply

X_Fire_MH
Member
Posts: 123

Hey how do you put a Flash animation on you tube?   I tried exporting it as a AVI. file, but for some reasion the movie clips I put in the flash don't work.  And I know theres a trick to it, but I can't figure it out.


How did you post your animation on youtube shad624?

--

--- END OF LINE ---

September 5, 2014 at 11:41 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Shadow624
Site Owner
Posts: 592

Convert it to an avi using Swivel.

http://www.newgrounds.com/wiki/creator-resources/flash-resources/swivel

then post it to youtube. That should work.

--

"What does HP stand for anyway? Hentai Power?"


September 6, 2014 at 1:41 AM Flag Quote & Reply

X_Fire_MH
Member
Posts: 123

X_Fire_MH at September 5, 2014 at 11:41 PM

Hey how do you put a Flash animation on you tube?   I tried exporting it as a AVI. file, but for some reasion the movie clips I put in the flash don't work.  And I know theres a trick to it, but I can't figure it out.


How did you post your animation on youtube shad624?

Thanks for the resource.

--

--- END OF LINE ---

September 6, 2014 at 4:18 PM Flag Quote & Reply

CosmicTornado
Member
Posts: 703

So I recently got the chance to start animating, and boy am I psyched!

Anyway, while looking for backgrounds I found this one:Sonic Advance - Neo Green Hill Zone 

How do I get rid of the purple background in Photoshop? I'm using Adobe Photoshop CS6 by the way.

--

Never give up hope for what could be.

http://cosmictornado.newgrounds.com/follow

October 17, 2014 at 2:10 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Mr.Video
Administrator
Posts: 748

CosmicTornado at October 17, 2014 at 2:10 PM

So I recently got the chance to start animating, and boy am I psyched!

Anyway, while looking for backgrounds I found this one:Sonic Advance - Neo Green Hill Zone 

How do I get rid of the purple background in Photoshop? I'm using Adobe Photoshop CS6 by the way.

Getting rid of it in Photoshop will still leave you with a white background when import it into Flash. Just open it in Flash, trace the bitmap, click on the purple background so it's the only thing selected and delete it.

--

"Yep. Someday, I'll teach him a dirty lesson!" -Luigi, in regards to Waluigi, Super Mario Bros. Heroes of the Stars Episode 3

Tumblr: http://mrvideo95.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MrVideo95

October 17, 2014 at 9:45 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Shadow624
Site Owner
Posts: 592

Mr.Video at October 17, 2014 at 9:45 PM

CosmicTornado at October 17, 2014 at 2:10 PM

So I recently got the chance to start animating, and boy am I psyched!

Anyway, while looking for backgrounds I found this one:Sonic Advance - Neo Green Hill Zone 

How do I get rid of the purple background in Photoshop? I'm using Adobe Photoshop CS6 by the way.

Getting rid of it in Photoshop will still leave you with a white background when import it into Flash. Just open it in Flash, trace the bitmap, click on the purple background so it's the only thing selected and delete it.

Actually the transparency will still be there if it's saved as a PNG. You just select the color with the magic wand and hit delete. 

--

"What does HP stand for anyway? Hentai Power?"


October 17, 2014 at 10:06 PM Flag Quote & Reply

CosmicTornado
Member
Posts: 703

Ah, thanks you guys!

--

Never give up hope for what could be.

http://cosmictornado.newgrounds.com/follow

October 18, 2014 at 2:25 PM Flag Quote & Reply

You must login to post.

Webs Counter

Recent Videos

197 views - 0 comments
673 views - 5 comments
833 views - 2 comments